Canary Islands, Anyone?

July 24, 2007 at 12:25 am (cool site, travel)

Here I was, planning on having a relaxing summer writing my feature length screenplay for my screenwriting course and finishing up a bit of post-production on a few short films. But now my car’s been smashed and I’ve been dealing with an insurance nightmare and it looks like they won’t be paying up (and Calgary is NOT a transit friendly city), I’ve got two weddings to attend and another wedding where I’m the maid-of-honour, and my health has been going downhill fast. If I ever needed a vacation, it’s now.

Which is why I’m so beguiled by this Alegria site (apparently Alegria means joy in Spanish… I could use a little joy right about now; my own joy, not that of a newlywed couple that I’m not a part of). Anyway, this website is operated by NetReservas, a provider of online reservation system in “real time” to hotels in the Canary Islands. (Interestingly, the Canary Islands are not named after canaries but dogs… I kid you not. It’s from the Latin term Insularia Canaria, meaning Island of the Dogs… but I digress.)

So what does this website offer? For starters, you can obviously make a reservation with Alegria.com for hotels on any of the islands. But beyond that, it also provides a lot of great information (and tempting photos) about the various islands themselves. I’m not sure which island I see myself visiting first, but based on the photos I’m leaning towards La Gomera; the Garajonay National Park looks amazing and the whole island just sounds so wonderfully tranquil. So if you don’t hear from me for a while, you know where to look.

3 Comments

  1. lattégirl said,

    It looks and sounds wonderful, my only stipulation would be that someone walk ahead of me through those leafy forests. (Strictly for the possible spider webs and residents thereof.)

  2. weirdgrrl said,

    Good idea. Maybe we can hire us a hunky tour guide to lead the way. 🙂

  3. terry said,

    Well, hunky would be the first criterion.

Leave a Reply

